Beauty Try-It: NYC New York Color Liquid Lipshine

Anyone that knows me is, most likely, well aware of my lip gloss fetish. With ownership of at least a few hundred lip products, and around 12 in my purse at any given time, it’s a little out of control. What can I say? I like to pamper my lips, and I like wearing different colors on them! Well, needless to say, I was very pleased to receive this NYC New York Color Liquid Lip Shine product from Influenster. This is the New York Nude shade.

In the past I have not been a huge fan of lip glosses that are applied with a wand applicator. They tend to be either gloppy, sticky and goopy, and/or they provide very little shine and color coverage, and it doesn’t last. But this stuff is A-1. I have been a fan of NYC New York Color products in the past, so I wasn’t too shocked by the superior quality, really. It feels good on my lips – smooth, not sticky, even kind of moisturizing. It goes on easily and the applicator is nice and flexible as opposed to stiff and unyielding, which of course makes for very sloppy, clowny lips. Best of all, IT LASTS. When it finally fades away, your lips will still feel nice and soft. Sweet!

The color looked a little frosty to me in the bottle, but after application, I saw that it’s a nice natural color with a LOT of gleam to it – enough to look good, not so much that I feel like I just slobbered all over myself. I think this particular shade (again, New York Nude) would look good with a lot of skin tones, from very pale (like me) to very dark. I’ve also found it looks good both on its own and layered over a darker lipcolor. It’s perfect for everyday wear. I wear mine with an SPF lip balm under it during the day; at night I put it over a richer pink shade and blend. I like that it helps your lips look naturally full. AND, just so you know, this shade smells of vanilla buttercream frosting. Mmmmm …

My "daytime" look with NYC Liquid Lipshine!

The particulars: NYC New York Color products retail for $.99 from $4.99. Liquid Lipshine retails for $2.49 and comes in 10 different shades, including much brighter and richer colors like berry tones and fuschias. I have also tried other NYC New York Color products in the past and they have all been very high quality, so I can vouch for the whole line! You can find NYC New York Color at Walmart, Target, Rite Aid, CVS, Family Dollar, Duane Reade, Kmart, and HEB stores to name a few.

Disclosure of Material Connections: This product was provided to me at no cost by Influenster’s VoxBox program, in exchange for my honest feedback. The thoughts expressed here are my own and I have not been paid or otherwise financially compensated in order to provide this review.

Leave a comment

