How Engaging … har har

Eric and I are engaged! What a lovely New Year’s present to receive. We’ve been betrothed (I love that word) for two weeks now and already we have the officiant, church, reception hall, caterer, DJ, and photographer all taken care of. While there are still plenty of details to work out with all of those, the next things to take care of are hair, makeup, gown, finalizing the guest list, save-the-date cards, the CAKE, and stuff like that. I got a little stressed out for a day or so, then I decided to calm down and just enjoy the engagement period. My friend Robyn told me she actually had a good time with all the planning after a while, so I decided to try and adopt that attitude myself. I have been doing tons and tons of research on different things and knowing all the options usually helps more than it hurts. People tell me to beware getting too much wedding advice, but I welcome it!

Eric and I have kinda hectic schedules so I’m glad we still have 11 months left to plan (well, less than that realistically, but let’s not get too technical). I love reading about weddings and doing wedding stuff, and I’m afraid of driving him nuts or making him feel like that’s all I care about, so I’m sure to do fun non-wedding stuff with him too, like playing video games, lying around talking with the cell phones and computers off, taking walks, and watching movies. We will have to figure out a time for us to have our pre-martial counseling sessions. I’m secretly hoping we get to take fun couples’ quizzes, simulate arguments, and fill out workbooks while sneaking peeks at each others’ answers when the reverend isn’t looking.

Despite my careful committment to a balanced wedding approach, I still admit to having purchased MANY wedding books and magazines! I’d like to review some of them to help other brides over time. Since this is supposed to be a mostly travel-and-exploration-related blog – not that it always stays that way, nor gets updated very often – I was thinking I may start a separate wedding blog. Or I may not. I don’t really want to go overboard here. What do you think?

3 responses to “How Engaging … har har

  1. Congratulations! How exciting 😀

  2. Eventacular! Texas

    Congratulations on your engagement. I know what an exciting time this is for the both of you. I want to give you a little advice, if you don’t mind…I would consider a wedding planner for the month of or at least the day of. You said it yourself, that you both have busy schedules and will have to put aside some time to enjoy your engagement; well, the last thing you want to do on your wedding day is worry about the wedding day! This is the time to bond with your new family to be, and with your fiancé and stress should not even be in your vocabulary. Consider some outside PROFESSIONAL help; you will be glad you took my advice.

  3. Wedding planner spam comment is hilarious.

Leave a comment

