Different Perceptions of the Ending of a Life, an Era

Hearing the Sunday announcement from the President brought me right back to my sharp memories of a horrible day, and some of the days that followed, as a 20-year-old college junior. How young I was then, how much I aged on that day alone.

I won’t be devoting too much space to this topic primarily because this blog isn’t really for me to ruminate on current events. Now this event was so big and so important to me that I couldn’t help but write some public thoughts. But there’s only so much I can say that’s even useful (if that). So here are some thoughts from others that I consider worthwhile, if only because they made me think. I’m not offering my own opinions on these links because I don’t see a need for that. Sometimes it’s better to just observe, rather than look for a side to stand on.

Roanoke Times: Learn a little bit more about the Virginia Navy SEALs team that performed this mission.

CNN’s Belief Blog: A college student’s take on what the end of bin Laden means to her generation.

CNN’s Global Square: Columnist Fareed Zakaria explains why he sees this as the essential end of Al Qaeda, first of a 3-part series.

Washington Post Blogs: Thoughts on the powerful Situation Room picture

Washington Post: The President of Pakistan – who is also the widower of Benazir Bhutto – says “Pakistan did its part.”

Washington Post: Harris Zafar, national spokesperson for a large Muslim community, answers readers’ questions and gives his take.

USA Today: This last article is much harder to read, but contains voices that need to be heard: those of 9/11 families. This quote really made me stop for a minute: “I just want to make sure we focus on the people he murdered … I don’t want this day to be about him.”

As I told (typed to) a friend of mine in response to his criticism of White House and Ground Zero revelers, “My shouts of joy were not at the death of the monster specifically but at the small semblance of justice for all those the monster hurt. And for the little tiny ray of hope in me that (perhaps very blindly) shines on that not every monster can die of old age while still committing or at least vocally and continuously inspiring more heinous crimes. And I feel no sadness at his death, I feel sadness for all those innocents who died because of him. It is a shame that we live in a world where monsters exist at all but we do. Dead or alive the important thing is he is unable to hurt further. And yes I feel fear at the possible retaliatory reactions to his death, but right now my pride in our incredible Navy SEALs and CIA eclipses that.” I then added in my comment to him, people react to things in different ways, some more vocally or boisterously than others, some more quietly and sadly … and neither of those reactions are wrong in themselves (as far as I’m concerned). And yes, very proud I am to be an American as much as I was 10 years before … and for that, I’ll celebrate as much as I please – because I can.

Leave a comment

