And Outside the White House, a Jubilee Erupts

A lot of people are talking about how they feel about the end of Osama bin Laden; most notably, the reaction of the general (and most visible) public. Dead or alive, the point is that he can’t hurt us anymore. That’s what I rejoice for, not his death specifically. Now, if I tried to sit here and tell you that I’m feeling sad this monster died, I would be lying. A major figurehead of terror that destroyed over 3,000 lives (on that day alone, that is) can no longer wreak such havoc. Are there other terrorists out there? Well, duh. But am I going to act like this means nothing to me, that my heart didn’t lift when I realized an announcement I’d assumed was going to be gloom and doom was in fact about the end of a purveyor of gloom and doom? No sir. And if I want to cheer and feel a strange kind of cautious relief at it all, then that’s what I will do. It is part of a long grieving process for many. Everyone grieves in their own way; it is not necessarily a showing of blind, thoughtless hatred. Some of us will be somber and quiet, some of us will cheer and praise God, some of us won’t feel much like making any noise at all and feel a little removed from it all. None of these are wrong. Let us be thankful we are allowed to say, or not say, whatever we choose.

Hug someone you love today.

Anyway, I’ve reflected on it for a while, trying to sort out all the emotions that hit me when I learned he was dead. And ultimately, the way I really feel is best summed up with someone else’s words.

Oh say! can you see?
By the dawn’s early light
What so proudly we hailed
At the twilight’s last gleaming?
Whose broad stripes and bright stars
Through the perilous fight
O’er the ramparts we watched
Were so gallantly streaming.
And the rocket’s red glare,
The bombs bursting in air,
Gave proof through the night
That our flag was still there.
Oh say does that star-spangled banner yet wave
O’er the land of the free,
And the home of the brave.

~Francis Scott Key

A blurry picture taken from atop Eric’s shoulders:

In remembrance.

5 responses to “And Outside the White House, a Jubilee Erupts

  1. If not a logged-in WordPress user, you may see a video ad at the end of this post after the jump. I just want to make clear that is WordPress’ doing and not my own.

  2. A momentous event indeed. Its too bad that he couldn’t have been captured alive, but that just wasn’t in the cards. Really looking forward to the full and detailed story of his capture; I’m sure it’ll be fascinating. I see a movie for sure! As a side note, the government of Pakistan has a *lot* of explaining to do imho!

  3. No, haven’t gotten to the Post yet. Soon. I can’t wait to see what he has to say.

Leave a comment

