Places Unseen: Melody Key

It’s been a while since I did a travel article. I’ve been working on several; my work days are just so busy, and then I have the novel, and I feel so lazy at the end of the day that the last thing I want to do is stare at the computer some more (especially since it’s screwing with my eyesight). But I’m trying out a new series of blog posts along with all the others I already have planned. (I’m also trying out a new blog format – what do you think? The font is sure easier on my eyes.) I’ll be putting the spotlight on places I haven’t seen, but find unique, and would LOVE to visit. Tonight, I’m going to talk about Melody Key.

Melody Key is one of the many private islands for sale off of Monroe County’s Florida Keys. At 5.5 acres, this is truly a tiny piece of paradise. For just $4.9 million, it can be yours!

The island was originally known as Money Key, supposedly because of pirate loot that was discovered there following the lawless days that pervaded the Keys in the late 1800s. In 1995, a three-story residence was built on Money Key which provides 360 degree views of the Atlantic Ocean and the Gulf of Mexico. Money Key was purchased by musician Nick Hexum, lead singer of 311, in 1997. Hexum petitioned Monroe County and the U.S. Geological Survey to change the name to Melody Key. He felt the new name more appropriately reflected the island’s romantic, lush setting, and on a more personal level, the inspiration it provided him for his songwriting. The name change was made official in 2005.

Today the island is for rent starting at $7,800 per week. It is quite gorgeous-looking and boasts impressive amenities, including some 2006 renovations. The rental price includes a 5,000 square foot parcel on Summerland Key, 25 miles away, where you can park your car and then boat on over. Oh, and the boat’s included in the price too!

Learn more about Melody Key at these links, which I used to find all of the above information:

Welcome to Melody Key: Official Site
Private Islands Magazine’s Melody Key page
Private Islands Online: Melody Key’s Market Listing

Next up: A place very few people ever visit. I almost gave Eric a heart attack tonight when I told him I want to go there sometime.

Leave a comment

