NaNoWriMo, Day 9

I’m well past 17,000 words now, and I’ve noticed a few things.

  • There is no way I can contain this story in 50,000 words. I mean, I could try, but it would be awfully short and rushed.
  • I’ve tried to figure out how many words make up a typical mass market paperback novel. It seems 250 words per page is the standard, but is that trade paperback or mass market paperback? I suppose I might get out a book and sit there and count the words myself to get the best estimate. šŸ˜‰
  • So far, the hardest part of this isn’t coming up with the story. I’ve never had a particularly hard time coming up with any story; I certainly made enough of them up in my head as a child, as my sister will gladly tell you! šŸ˜‰ What IS hard is staring at a computer screen for this long. I spend most of the 9 hours of each workday at my laptop. By 6 PM my eyes are super blurry. It’s hard to then turn around and spend another several hours continuing to look at it, to type up something else!
  • Where previously I viewed the plot with somewhat of a cold, distant eye, now I have started to care about my characters and what happens to them. I feel almost bad about what I’d already decided to do to some of them.
  • I began to get a little obsessive the other day about making sure my story was in line with real events that fit it. But then Eric reminded me that many of the world’s greatest stories, in novels or in film, aren’t 100 percent accurate or plausible when compared to real-life events. The Departed, for example, is based upon real-life events, and does not mirror them perfectly. But you aren’t supposed to sit there and pick at it, are you? Because who cares? It’s a damn fine film. (Not that I’m comparing my writing to THAT, mind you. Just an example.)
  • Although my earliest childhood career dream was to be a famous author, I have no plans to try to publish the story. But writing this novel has certainly re-ignited those dreams and made me realize I never stopped having them.
4 responses to “NaNoWriMo, Day 9

  1. I think a typical novel contains about 150,000 words. Rob would know for sure!

  2. Good job. I just finished a novel that had about 109,000 words (quick estimate based on sampling several randomly selected lines in the book and multiplying out). It didn’t seem to me to be very long.

Leave a comment

