30 Things Everyone Should Know How To Do Before Turning 30

On a somewhat recent trip to McKay’s used books and music in Manassas, I picked up a discounted little read I had been considering for several years: 30 Things Everyone Should Know How to Do Before Turning 30, by Siobhan Adcock. I love books that give you the author’s opinion of things that everyone should do before they turn a certain age, before they die, before they get too old to appreciate it, before they have kids, before they do anything else ever again, bla bla bla.

Do YOU know how to do all of these things? And should you?

So here begins a little experiment of mine. It just so happens that my 30th birthday is under a year away – closer to nine months away, to be exact. And I don’t know how to do everything in the book. So why not try out Adcock’s suggestions and see if I can indeed learn to do all of these things? It can’t hurt to hone my present-wrapping, cooking, dancing, flat-tire changing, and persuasive speaking skills. At worst, I’ll make a fool out of myself for your amusement. At best, I’ll pick up some awesome new skills I should’ve learned a long time ago – no, I cannot parallel park – and have fun reviewing the book in a creative manner along the way.

And if it works out well? I may just try out the experiment again with another “everyone should” book. There are plenty of ’em. Stay tuned for Thing #1, in which I learn to wrap a professional-looking present! How timely!

5 responses to “30 Things Everyone Should Know How To Do Before Turning 30

  1. Love your idea and can’t wait for a demo of all of your new skills on your next birthday!

  2. Yay (are you looking for some good idea to demonstrate your skills on? Hint: I need a new sleeping bag, maybe two!). 🙂

Leave a comment

