Random Thoughts

So I’m getting to the point where I really want a house. Not a condo or townhouse, a real house. Unfortunately, there are several things that stand in the way of this plan, namely the fact that I have almost no savings for a down payment at all. And I think I have to concentrate more on my 401K and a Roth IRA and making sure I can retire by the time I’m 70 right now anyway.

Eric has been playing the PlayStation 2 game, Shadow of the Colossus, which makes me think of the movie Reign Over Me which in turn makes me sad. It turns out the game is sad as well. Yet the music in it is gorgeous.

I am working on a post about Amsterdam and other cities I saw in Holland during my two trips there (or four, if you want to get really technical). My aunt is visiting Amsterdam sometime soon, so I thought she would appreciate it! 🙂

I saw a kid walking across the parking lot to our apartment building with his little brother. They had just gotten off of the school bus. The older kid was literally walking and reading a manga (Japanese graphic novel, many of which are aimed at children) at the same time. LOVE IT.

I am on a nutrition and exercise “kick” that I hope won’t just be a “kick” this time. I typically do 20 to 30 minutes of cardio each day followed by 30 to 40 minutes of strength training for a specific muscle group. I’m also trying to eat more fresh foods with less fat and carbs and more protein. The 12 boxes of Girl Scout cookies I purchased recently don’t help this goal, but getting a lot of healthier snacks and having those available to reach for instead does! (Of course, there’s nothing wrong with me eating two or three cookies each day, just not a whole box as I am prone to doing.) Today is my day to work my arms after a “rest day” yesterday. I am pleased to say I have some noticeable Brachialis muscle (or whatever the muscle on the side of the arm is called; that’s what my college health textbook says it is). I hope to get stronger and stronger until I can do a pull-up, which I can sheepishly admit I’ve never been able to do without help in my whole life. For now I’m having fun with planks and plank variations. Push-ups are still difficult. I remember when I could do a bunch with no problem (though my swim coach would always catch me cheating and make me do even more of them). Complicating the issue is pain in my left knee. I’ve got to get my knees stronger.

Let me get sappy and talk about how much I love my cat, Sumo. I had an awful headache today and while I was waiting for the Excedrin to work and whining pitifully at Eric (a favorite activity), he came over and hopped up in my lap to snuggle me. He will be nine on St. Patrick’s Day. I’m so glad I adopted him, nearly five years ago! I was thinking about getting him this heated cat pod for him to sleep in. Mommy’s angel deserves the best. Of course, that’s money that’s probably better spent going in a savings account 🙂 Maybe one of those self-heating cat mats would be a better, cheaper birthday present. Or maybe not. Warm weather is already here!

3 responses to “Random Thoughts

  1. Of course you can have a house!! Just start planning for it. I think for saving for a house is almost as important as saving for retirement. Just budget for it and you’ll have your house one day.

    Can’t wait to see your Amsterdam post! I really want to know why you love Amsterdam and what’s not to be missed fronm YOUR perspective.

    Your exercise program sounds great! I am big believer of weight training and of course cardio. Pullups are really hard for women — I use an assisted pullup machine at my gym.

    I love Sumo too! Such a sweet, loving kitty.

    • When exactly are you going to Amsterdam, Aunt V.? (So that I can make sure I have the entry up on time 🙂

      And I just have to add that you are seriously the coolest aunt ever.

      ~Martha V.

      • thanks Precious!!! that is so dear of you! I am not going to Amsterdam until mid-July, so you have plenty of time!

Leave a comment

